Macs @ Oak Lake

The Oak Lake Writers’ Society (OLWS) retreat has taken place annually at South Dakota State University’s Oak Lake Field Station on the eastern edge of South Dakota since 1993. This event brings together members of the Oak Lake Writers’ Society, a state-wide group of tribal writers whose primary goal is the strengthening and preservation of Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota cultures through the development of culture-based writings.

Tipi at Oak Lake lodge (retreat 2012)

The Oak Lake Writers’ Society does an evening reading for members of the Brookings, South Dakota community at the Oak Lake lodge every year during our annual retreat. Our members also publish and read in venues within the state of South Dakota, as well as in venues nationally and internationally.

Dakota scholar and author Elizabeth Cook-Lynn has served as the primary mentor for the group. Her annual co-mentors have included N. Scott Momaday, James Welch, Laura Tohe, Joseph Marshall III, Kim Blaeser, Ted Kooser, Susan Power, LeAnne Howe, Roberta Hill, Gordon Henry, and Jodi Byrd.

Leave a Reply

Observing 23 years of N/D/Lakota culture-based writing.