Eligible for membership in the Oak Lake Writers’ Society are enrolled members of the federally-recognized Oceti Sakowin tribes who are committed to culture-based writing and have published in credible venues. Members are expected to attend annual retreats. Please contact to inquire about  the retreats and related events and activities. We also occasionally confer honorary membership on others.  Honorary members are accepted by invitation only.

L to R: E. Cook-Lynn, F. Kiyukanpi-Renville, D. Stands, E. Valandra, N. Jones, Jr., A. Keith



Observing 23 years of N/D/Lakota culture-based writing.